Home Kids Page

Home Page

2014 Summer Reading Program Theme: Fizz, Boom, Read!

Children and teens are encouraged to join Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System’s Summer Reading Program and Fizz, Boom and Read through the summer! Readers of all ages will explore all things science-related during the 2014 Summer Reading Program each library.

Summer Reading fun can be had by all ages beginning June 1 through August 1. Children who sign up for the reading program keep their minds active and enter school in the fall ready to learn and ready to succeed. Reading throughout the summer benefits students by helping retain skills learned during the school year.

It’s easy to join, just come into any of our 33 libraries to register. Children read 10 books and teens read 5. After signing up, each person receives a reading log to keep track of books that are read during the summer. The library awards a certificate when readers complete their number of books, and their names go into a drawing for prizes. Your librarian is also more than happy to help you find books that are just right for every age group.

Sign-up for "Fizz, Boom, Read!" begins on June 1. Find a form at any branch and register. For more information call your local branch or explore more at our website, www.afpls.org.

All programs are free of charge. Click here for programs.

Vote for the 2014 Milner Award winner at www.themilneraward.org

The Milner Award encourages children to read by empowering them to select their favorite authors and then bring them to Atlanta for the Milner Award Program each year. School children and their teachers and media specialists have the opportunity to come to the free program to meet the author in person and hear them speak. The winning author is chosen by votes gathered both in the elementary schools and in the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System branches.
Past Winners

2013 Jeff Kinney

2012 Dan Gutman

2011 Rick Riordan

2010 Kate DiCamillo

2009 Margie Palatini

2008 David Shannon

2007 Megan McDonald

2006 Laura Numeroff

2005 Helen Lester

Visit eCampus for homework help and other great resources at www.afpls.org/ecampus

2012 homeworkhelp-240x120





Featured Sites    


An easy-to-use & entertaining Web site designed especially for children & families
Call and ask questions about your homework problems


Browse new DVD Titles to place on hold or check out for the summer!







photo_momDaughterKeeping Your Child Safe Online
Learn how you can keep your child safe while surfing the internet.
You can also get access to valuable safety and learning resources.

Read More

 Georgia Department of Education | Atlanta Public Schools | Fulton County Schools
Home Education Information Resource | Metro Atlanta Private Schools

              Puppet Guy at Sandy Springs                             
              eCampus Workshop with Boy Scouts                   
      E Atlanta hands up Mama Koku                     
   Diorama Contest - Leo Muir